top of page
Search

Gaze into His face to reflect His glory and grace

Updated: Oct 3, 2020

What do you notice first when you gaze up at the moon? I am captivated by its brilliant light that illuminates the sky and at the same time is easy enough on my eyes for me to gaze at. I think of how we cannot look into the face of God, but Jesus came in His full glory and we get to gaze into His face as we read His Word, talk with Him, listen to Him in prayer and walk with Him throughout Creation.


This week I thought about the face on the moon and that there is comfort in

thinking of it being Jesus lovingly looking over us in the night sky, winking at us with a twinkle in His eye letting us know that He loves us so deeply.


Just as we are drawn to the light of the moon, we are drawn to the radiance of Christ. He is radiating throughout all of Creation. Is he radiating through us?


“For God, who said, “Let brilliant light shine out of darkness,” is the one who has cascaded his light into us—the brilliant dawning light of the glorious knowledge of God as we gaze into the face of Jesus Christ.” -2 Corinthians 4:6 (TPT)


One night this week as I looked carefully at the moon trying to find the face, what I saw was a cross, and it reminded me of Christ's sacrifice and love. We can imagine gazing up at our Savior.


Dear Lord, thank you for loving us so much that you endured the cross for us. Thank you for bearing the weight of our sin. Thank you for radiating the Father’s glory to us and into us and through us. We long to see you face to face. Until then, we pray to experience your love so deep that it overflows from our hearts and radiates on our faces so that the world may know you.


In Jesus name, Amen


I pray that as you gaze up at the moon it will remind you of how much our God loves you that He would send His only Son to die on the cross for all of us and bear the weight of our sins. His Son, our Redeemer and Prince of Peace, longs for us to gaze up at Him as He gazes down at us, His bride, longing for the day that He returns in full glory to be united with Him in heaven. Come, Lord, Jesus, come. Let your glory fill the Earth!


Now we see but a dim reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”


-I Corinthians 13:12 (NIV)


This morning as I finish writing this, it is 5:30 a.m. and the moon is full, shining bright. I walked outside and turned and saw the moon, and the song "Turn your eyes upon Jesus" came to my mind. I looked it up, and I found that the song was written almost 100 years ago in 1922 by Helen Howarth Lemmel. Wow. A word for today that the Lord knew we would need. Turn our eyes upon Jesus, "and the things of Earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace." Thank you, Jesus.


I read this morning the words of Jesus, "Your eye is the lamp of your body."

-Luke 11:34


Lord, fill us with your light and beauty as we gaze at you.


As I was standing outside gazing at the moon, this song came to my heart as well, which was a gift from the Lord because it brings me so much peace: Shine on Us.


"Lord, let Your light, Light of Your face shine on us....

Lord, let Your grace Grace from Your hand fall on us...

Let Your love come over us...

Let Your light shine on us."


Lord, let your light, love and grace shine on us. We love you! Thank you for your love!


May we gaze continually into the face of our Prince of Peace, to open the eyes of our heart and receive His love as we seek to find Him, and He lets us know that He is near, He is within us. Paul wrote, “it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20, NRSV) Let's turn our eyes on Jesus and sing of His great love so that the world will know our Jesus and wonder...wonder about this light in the darkness.


The Holy Bible, New International Version® NIV®

Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.®

Used by Permission of Biblica, Inc.® All rights reserved worldwide.


New Revised Standard Version Bible, copyright © 1989 the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.


The Passion Translation®. Copyright © 2017 by BroadStreet Publishing® Group, LLC. Used by permission. All rights reserved. thePassionTranslation.com


Shine on Us, by Michael W. Smith also sung by Philips, Craig and Dean


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page